Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

“What angel wakes me from my flowery bed?” ( SAID NO TURTLE EVER!)
-quote of Titania

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM-Apologies, again, to the “Bard of Avon”!

True, it’s not “mid summer” just yet, but it’s my dream or was it a dream at all??
As you all know I was put in the “pokey” this past week for hunting turtles in poison oak and then spreading the “oil of oak” to my mom- whose legs and arms are now in an ocean of Calamine lotion. She’s itching so much that she didn’t even post my catches – #17 and #18. In fact, she never even numbered #18, but she did photograph them. They were beautiful too as you can see.

image
image

Delightful yellow dots on their backs. Obviously, I found them totally irresistible. A little too irresistible. Besides the poison oak problem, turtles 17 and 18 were so tiny that I got #17 lodged in the back of my mouth and was unable to breathe -which gave mom a fearful fright. We bullies never chew, we gulp and these last two little turtles were almost my undoing. Mom fought hard to save me and I think it was my gratitude which caused me to show my appreciation by licking and nuzzling her arms and legs. Who knew that I was a poison oak “carrier”? My friend, KEM, wrote a song for me to sing to Mom, an apology of sorts, in hopes that it would soften Mom’s resolve and get me bailed. It WORKED! (KEM’s song can be seen as a reply in my last blog.)

I was particularly good for the rest of the weekend. Everyone was festive. Mom and Dad went to a Memorial Day cookout on Sunday, I dined on venison. We pondered the magnitude of the sacrifice of our veterans and are all deeply grateful for their service!

Then Monday it was decided that a little yard work was in order. Mom and I pulled Virginia Creeper vines. I was positivily Master Gardner material! I worked so hard that I had Virginia Creeper wrapped all about me, which made Mom giggle because she said that I looked like a character from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Who knew?
imageimage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, amid the periwinkle flowers and greenery I nailed # 19 and thirty minutes later I nabbed #20 AFTER having promised to give up “turtling”. ( please note that # 19 looks like a Jack O Lantern, so I named him “Jack” and # 20 is “Julius” because he’s orange! )

imageimage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that’s how I ended up in the pokey- again.

image

I’m going to try to impress Mom by reciting a bit of the sprite Puck’s epilogue- in hopes that I will be forgiven.

Has this all been but a dream? A Midsummer Night’s Dream? After all, how can one garden have so many turtles…..

MOM? OH MOM? Are you listening?

 

“If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but slumber’d here
While these visions (of turtles) did appear…”

