Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When Mr. Kippers caught turtle # 49 he simply stated:
” And are we not all in agreement that their should be some serious falderal to commemorate number 50 when the time comes?
Let’s hear it for FALDERAL!!!!”

I need a DRUM ROLL PLEASE for this auspicious occasion. It’s true, I have caught number 50 and in fine form I might add!
Not only will it be documented here for posterity, but Mom even got it on video!
I know it isn’t polite to brag, but this IS turtle 50 and I AM 12, so please allow “moi” a tad of latitude.
This morning was a rather normal, hot sultry day. Dad and I went for our early morning constitutional when I began to alert. Knowing that my behavior was more “turtle alert” rather than “feral cat/ squirrel alert”, Dad brought me into the house to get Mom and the camera. After all, everyone has been on pins and needles waiting me to strike on number 50, but I’ve been drawing blank since Memorial Day!
I kid you not! I haven’t caught even one iota of the essence of tortoise in all that time. But today was different. Mom got her camera, set it to video and we headed out. There was a slight breeze and I caught it, not the breeze- the odor of tortoise!

I pranced, I trotted, I pulled , I caught him and then something that has never happened before happened!

image

imageimage


imageimage

image

I slung my head to the left and #50 flew out of my mouth and right at my mom!image

image

Of course she immediately took him inside to be indelibly marked as number 50, complete with a little touch of the RED, WHITE and BLUE and a big old gaudy bow to begin our FALDERAL celebration. 

image


imageimage image

We posed for pics, partied, I got lots of treats and then it happened- I was told it was time for #50 to be released. I stomped my feet a bit, but then I just pranced around. After all, today was a momentous occasion!
Number 50 has now gone into the record books and I am, most unabashedly, the Turtle King of Walker House!