Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The mailman, excuse me – “postal person”, delivered my correspondence course material on cloning yesterday!

image

I am taking my course, Me, Myself & I -Cloning For Beginners from MRI (Massachusetts Reproductive Institute), in Ipswich, Massachusetts.

I am terribly impressed with the course material. When I signed up, I had to choose between a pig or a sheep to be used as my example. Of course, because we are called “pig dogs”, I chose the pig example. My goodness! MRI even included information from the AKC English Bull Terrier color chart which will help immensely!

image
I had spoken to MRI earlier and explained my situation. I told them that I was not trying to get a degree in biochemistry/cloning per se, but that it’s imperative that I find a protégé in short order.
After all, my “mini me” will have to grow and develop.

image image image image


Now for the super exciting news! I have finally secured a laboratory for my personal use!
I will now, very shortly, be able to put to work those things which I am learning.
Now, I’ll bet y’all are itching to know which lab.
You see, the LSU Med School laboratory is in use daily, so naturally I needed a place where I can work, undisturbed of course. LOYOLA COLLEGE PREP graciously responded to my request to use their facility. Since their students are out of school for the summer, it will be ideal!

image image
I’m going to be finishing up with my book work by tomorrow evening and will then begin my lab work.
Two points of importance:
First, clones do not always look identical. Although clones share the same genetic material, the environment also plays a big role in how an organism turns out.
Secondly, in reproductive cloning, researchers remove a mature somatic cell, such as a skin cell, from an animal that they wish to copy. They then transfer the DNA of the donor animal’s somatic cell into an egg cell, or oocyte, that has had its own DNA-containing nucleus removed.

THIS IS SOOOOOOO COOL!

Back to my books!