Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

These three days in the Loyola lab have been like being in Merlin’s cave at Tintagel–MAGICAL! 

image

In this post I will walk y’all through the steps toward cloning my protégé.

image

Of course I had to follow cloning protocol which requires wearing rubber slippers and a special lab coat. A sterile lab environment is a prerequisite for a successful cloning.

imageimageimageimage

I began Monday by laying out my petri dishes, pipettes and other necessary supplies.
Once finished, I carefully placed an egg in the middle of each petri dish of which there are four.

image


I want to make certain that this time my work is successful. The eggs all had bluish looking dots in them which contained genetic material. I pierced the eggs an extracted said material which basically leaves the eggs ” blank”.

OK, yes, I blew up the first two eggs. I’m afraid that bull terriers don’t do anything gently and those eggs certainly were flimsy. Fortunately I had some extras.
Then it was time to re-inject them with my special cell mixture. That “Fox Fox” DNA was a bit dicey injecting, but the turtle olfaction went in like slippery slim! I added a little extra “heart” to the mix.

image


Next I had to give a tiny electrical shock to prompt the eggs to start developing into a viable bully embryos. Of course we are dealing with English bull terrier genetics and those of you who understand our breed, know that sometimes we need sort of a kick in the derrière to get moving.

Once completed, this becomes the stage of early embryonic development. Within days, if all goes well, the embryos will be ready for transfer into a surrogate mother.

After I completed my “cloning”,  I sat back and viewed my work. Right there before my eyes might be the heir apparent to Classic Kippers. 

image

