Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

img_6114

Tomorrow a training exercise will take place which will allow my adopted son, Master Kirby, to work toward his ultimate goal of taking the helm of Classic Kippers at some point.
Most of you know that it’s MARDI GRAS time, and in Louisiana, that means party time! Mardi Gras, also called Shrove Tuesday, or Fat Tuesday, in English, refers to events of Carnival celebrations, beginning on or after the Christian feasts of the Epiphany (Three Kings Day) and culminating on the day before Ash Wednesday- the beginning of the Christian Lenten season.
In fact, the French phrase synonymous with Mardi Gras is “Laissez les bon temps rouler”- Let the good times roll!
Most of you are aware that my Mardi Gras roots run quite deep. In 2014 I reigned as the very first four-legged Grand Marshal of The Krewe of Barkus & Meoux! That year I rolled, in not only in the Mardi Gras parade, but that April, also in Shreveport’s Spring festival called Holiday in Dixie!

img_6112 img_6113img_3938img_6118img_6121
In 2016, I once again stepped into the spotlight as The King of the Krewe of Barkus and Meoux with Miss Sophie Peach as my Duchess.

img_6111img_5671

There were also other functions- luncheons, visits to nursing homes, schools and interviews on live TV which required my being at the TV station prior to 5 AM! And of course a CLASSIC KIPPERS check presentation at one of the functions!

img_6117

img_6116

img_6120
Yep, the 2016 Mardi Gras Season kept us mighty busy as we rolled in the Barkus & Meoux Parade, as well as the Highland Parade and The Holiday in Dixie’s parade!
The best part was that my book,”Rags to Renaissance- The Southern Education of an Abused English Bull Terrier” had just been published, so my Dad and human brother, William, made me my very own float- complete with a totally comfy couch. None of this standing up to throw beads for me!

img_6104 img_6105
(By the way, I had awesome signature beads  and cups to throw!)

img_6126
There was also a replica of my book which made up the entire end of the float! It was 72 times bigger than my actual book! And, because I love to sit in our family library by the fire and read, a faux fireplace was incorporated into the float.

Very cool! V E R Y, V E R Y COOL!

img_3946
Despite all of these wonderful touches, a four hour float ride is rather grueling and that’s just ONE parade!

img_6128 img_6131 img_3941 img_3944

And then there’s the fact that I’ve turned thirteen.
It’s time! It’s time for Master Kirby to BEGIN to represent Classic Kippers. Actually, because many people “over party” anyway, it won’t look so bad for Master Kirby to be in the midst of revelers! In some cases, it might even make him look well mannered! {{{snort, snort, chortle, chortle}}}

60cb925b-e5ad-4800-968e-6098da335c27-large
The jury is still out on that one! You don’t think I would actually allow him to represent our company at say, well, the Christmas party at John Pickens Fine Clothier? Not happening just yet!
Of course Kirby will not be a Grand Marshal nor a King. Those are basically earned positions. He needs to work his way up starting as a reveler, on the street. That includes collecting beads in the air and the street gutters.

24e2c882-7467-491e-9465-538beb81ced7c2090f61-4124-4edd-a922-e3d9a44cf587
Revelers shout out, “Hey Mister! Throw me some beads!”
This afternoon we practiced.

By George, I think he’s got it!

Hang on Shreveport!
Mardi Gras and Master Kirby will meet on the streets tomorrow for the Highland Parade!

6d66c1c3-a585-4fe2-a16f-e3636715fb60

